Why Do I Love Gymnastics?

DSC04180

Why do I love gymnastics? I honestly don’t know. I mean,

My coaches push me hard.

DSC04184

I come home from practice sore, with scratches and rips.

I’ve fallen about fifty million times.

I’m not the strongest gymnast on my team.

I’ve been yelled at a lot.

DSC04189

I get frustrated when I can’t get a skill.

But I still love it.

DSC04196

Maybe it’s because…

My coaches want me to be successful.

My bumps and bruises show that I’m practicing hard.

Each time I fall, I’m correcting myself.

If I keep practicing, I’ll get better.

Being yelled at makes me realize my mistake.

I love the feeling of satisfaction when I do perfect a new skill.

So, yeah. Gymnastics is one of the hardest sports there is. But I haven’t given up. A few years ago, I would watch in awe as the older girls did backflips and back handsprings and twisted through the air -and they’d land just as gracefully. Now look at me. I’m sure that sounds self centered- but it’s true. I’ve really started pushing myself at practice, and now I can do a kip, a back handspring, sometimes even two in a row, and I’m really close to getting my aerial. =)

I am a gymnast at heart.gymnast

~Ruthie ❤

16 thoughts on “Why Do I Love Gymnastics?

  1. Awesome post! I love the pictures, especially the one where Ruthie is flying through the air! I love to swim, even though my teacher is a bit brutal sometimes. I like it anyway. The feeling of the water on my face makes me feel good. I think everyone has things like that.

    ❤ maplelea ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

