Writing Tip: Create a Story Around Your Photography

Hello, writers, bloggers, and unicorns! ๐Ÿ™‚ This is the kind of thing that I don’t normally post on here, but I had a great idea for a story as I was taking pictures of Brooke outside. I also have some tips that will help you when writing or give you some ideas!


  1. Use nature as a writing prompt. If you see a leaf, you can make into something symbolic for a story or make up a dramatic line for a story.ย An example:

The leaf fluttered away in the gentle summer breeze. The sun shone brightly, the flowersย were everywhere. But to me, everything served as a reminder that nothing stays forever. The pink peonies’ ruffled petals reminded me of the lacy pink dresses my sister used to wear. Suddenly, something as happy as a flower could make me want to cry.ย 

***

I went to her grave the next day. It was hard to believe that my sister, the one who had lived and breathed and loved once was under the cold, unforgiving, earth. I sank to my knees and wished for my sister to come back. But it turns out that that was once upon a time. Wishing for things was behind me now. Wishing does not exist in a world where my sister does not either.ย 

Here’s another one I came up with after taking this photo:

Dewdrops scattered the ground and the moonlight illuminated the sky. Dewdrops, I thought. The tears of the angels.ย 

Even if it’s just one sentence, it can make a big difference in your story.

I was alone. It was an awful feeling, but I hardly remembered a time where other humans roamed the Earth anyway.

Run. The word was in big, flashing lights in my head. The world was no longer safe for people like me. A watch was of no use, I had been running for hours already. Time never mattered anyway. I kept running until my legs were sore, until I couldn’t breathe, until I reached a place I no longer recognized as Earth.ย 


See how that works? Each of the short stories I wrote have a common theme, so I could probably mush that into one big story.

I will be posting this on both of my blogs, just an FYI.

What are your thoughts? Did this help you?

Adios,ย 

10 thoughts on “Writing Tip: Create a Story Around Your Photography

  1. You are a very talented writer!
    Just saying, I haven’t been able to see the pictures lately. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    It happened on my blog too and I found out that it was because I was hitting ‘insert’ before the picture had finished loading. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    • Aw, thanks so much, Lily! ๐Ÿ™‚
      Really? Hmm, that’s weird, I can see them just fine… I guess I could try to reupload them. Wait, so can you see the pictures in any of my recent posts?
      Actually, I put my pictures into my posts differently now since I don’t have any more free photo space on WordPress. I’ll try to fix that.

      Like

Leave a Reply

